Reviews

Read What Our Patients Are Saying

"Dr. Buchin, Dr. Godwin, Erin, Patti and the whole team are exceptional human beings and truly care about patients and outcomes. I decided to see them after many friends recommended the practice and was blown away by the kindness and support. If you are considering weight loss surgery, these are the folks to see."
Brenda Morrissey
Published 09/3/19
"The best doctors ever, there's nothing I can say to explain how grateful I am. its been amazing ever since day one, excellent staff, always happy to help and answer any question or doubt you have. I'm so happy right now with my results after surgery thank you Dr. Buchin, Dr. Godwin & Erin Nastro for the help and guidance. I wish there where more stars to give."
Dileny De La Cruz
Published 08/2/19
"Dr. Buchin and the amazing women in his office made my surgery easier to prepare for than a manicure. A live person always answers the phone, and you get a packet with everything you need to do in a handy to-do list, complete with prescriptions for the pre-tests and a list of recommended doctors. I'm almost a year out and I'm feeling great. And, Dr. Buchin's office is so great that I drive to Huntington to see him, even though I live in Patchogue and there are a few obesity doctors out this way."
Elizabeth Cone
Published 07/31/19
"Dr. Buchin and Dr.Godwin removed my gallbladder which they claimed was the largest they have seen. They were absolutely wonderful. They were extremely kind and made me feel at ease going into surgery. I would highly recommend!!!"
Maureen McMains
Published 07/23/19
"Excelente doctor and perfect staff. They always treat you respectfully. I totally recommend them they are the best "
Sandy Ortez
Published 07/17/19
"I highly recommend Dr Buchin. He is the best doctor! Caring & understanding . Thank you Dr Buchin for caring for your patients & all the help you give :)"
Andrea Umana
Published 07/8/19
"Best doctor highly recommend"
Donald Johnson
Published 06/25/19
"Dr Buchin and his office staff are incredible! They provide guidance and support through the whole surgery process and after. I have been a patient of Dr B. for almost 9 years and confident I have been in the best hands. Highly recommend!"
Adria Dodge
Published 05/16/19
"Dr.Buchin is the best. I had surgery one year ago today and I lost 130 pounds. He has changed my life. He makes sure that you are succeeding from day one. His staff is very nice and extremely helpful. I would recommend that if you are considering weight loss surgery you should go to Dr. Buchin."
David Mannino
Published 05/14/19
"Had my sleeve done 3/26/18 and have never had a single regret. Dr Buchin and staff are amazing, friendly and truly care about their patients. They will never look down on you for any reason, and are extremely LGBTQ+ friendly."
C. Zuckewise
Published 05/14/19
"This staff and Dr. Buchin were very professional, extremely helpful and understanding. I felt very comfortable the moment I walked into his office. I’d highly recommend Dr. Buchin."
Lynn Siegel
Published 04/21/19
"Dr. Buchin was called in as a consult because of his reputation. Never met a more caring and genuine doctor before. My husband was a patient in Huntington and Dr. Buchin was not even his doctor. Was called in briefly as a consult but took time to fully explain things to us in laymen's terms. When our doctors were not available to answer questions (which was often) he always came and answered any questions we had. He looked in on him daily (even weekends and evenings) The office staff was very friendly and helpful and caring. With the health care system the way it is lately this is a refreshing change. This is a medical practice that actually cares about patients and their concerns, no matter how minor. I highly recommend Dr. Buchin!!"
Fred Schirripa
Published 04/19/19
"I highly recommend Dr. Buchin!!! Everything was amazing from start to finish ... the office, their staff, the guidance, the surgery & recovery ... Everything was explained thoroughly and I felt safe and assured through the whole journey!!"
Kate Ryan
Published 04/19/19
"Dr Buchin is an amazing doctor. He truly cares for his patients and spends so much time with them. His office staff is kind, informative, and always available to answer any questions. I can’t thank him and his staff enough on how they changed my life. I recommend that office to everyone."
Anna Naccarato
Published 04/18/19
"After seeing Dr. Buchin in the ER I was reassured that I was receiving quality care due to Dr. Buchin's amazing bed side manner. Dr. Buchin is an outstanding doctor. On my follow up visit I had the pleasure of meeting his welcoming and professional staff that took great care of me."
Mark Mcgowan
Published 04/10/19
"Hands-down the best Doctor and staff around. Dr. Buchin and his staff are top notch. I cant thank them enough for all they have done to guide me through the weight loss surgery process. I highly recommend them for anyone who wants to start this journey...they are with you every step of the way."
Maria Hansen
Published 04/06/19
"Dr. Buchin and his team are the best, hands down! Getting prepared for bariatric surgery is no easy task but the team at LI Obesity are fully supportive and will walk you through the entire process. I continue to receive the same type of support, care and treatment, even 18 months post-surgery. Entrusting Dr. Buchin with my life-changing surgery will forever be the best decision I've ever made."
Vicky Vasquez
Published 03/10/19
"I went to see Dr Buchin because I needed to lose alot of weight due to many health issues. Dr Buchin and his staff were very informative and patient. They answered all my questions and concerns. After the life changing gastric sleeve they continued with the great care. I'm forever grateful for all they did for me."
Cindy Panico
Published 01/30/19
"I’ve researched doctors who have had experience with wheelchair bound individuals and I didn’t come across any in my area. A friend of mine recommended Dr Buchin to me and I took a chance. I am so happy that I did. I’m 3 months post op down 85 pounds.
Dr Buchin is knowledgeable and very experienced in weight loss surgery. His staff is amazing, courteous and very welcoming. If you are an individual that is wheelchair bound looking into weight loss surgery I highly recommend Dr. Buchin."
Nicole Lilly
Published 01/26/19
"Best decision I made! Thank you Dr.vBuchin and staff you have forever changed my life. It’s been 7 months and I’ve lost over 65 pounds."
M. Santiago
Published 01/19/19
"I must say, his level of compassion, understanding and dedication to his profession is truly amazing. I could not have picked a better Physician. The staff, (Erin, Patty, et. al.) go above and beyond expectations. Their guidance and counsel is delivered with empathy and concern for each and every patient. If you are considering this journey, I am a witness that L.I.O.S., David Buchin MD, is really your only option. Jump in with both feet. You will not regret it."
Nick Harvey
Published 12/13/18
"Dr Buchin and his staff are amazing. I'm just over a year out of surgery and down 148lbs. Him and his staff provide the tools and support necessary for success. I can not say enough good things about him and his practice"
Matthew sandrowicz
Published 12/5/18
"There are truly no words or Thank yous for Dr. Buchin and his staff. I was told by my primary Dr. for years to lose weight. I failed at every attempt. Then he suggested gastric sleeve surgery. I thought about it for 2 years. Gaining more weight I decided to do it. Dr. Buchin made me feel so comfortable and so educated about the process. I spoke to many people who had other surgeons and they had no idea how to eat properly and were not educated on what to expect. I was sleeved on 4/30/18. As of today 7 months out I have lost 113 lbs. I cannot explain how I feel it’s just amazing!! My life is just beginning! I’m a new person. Best decision I ever made. Wish I did it years ago. If you want the Best experience possible trust me call Dr Buchins office. Thankful I did. Again saying Thank you to him and his staff is not enough for all they do!!! June Ray "
June Ray
Published 12/2/18
"I cannot thank enough Dr Buchin and his entire staff for the help they provided. They made the process easy and the support has been wonderful. Dr Buchin is the best. I would recommend him to everyone"
Josephoine Scalfani
Published 12/2/18
"Words are simply inadequate to describe the experience I have had with Dr. B, Erin Nastro, and the staff at this office. They made this entire process so simple and put me at ease. I was so scared to go through with this surgery and I knew the first time I met Dr. B he was the perfect doctor to have perform my gastric sleeve surgery. He is so down to earth and explains everything step by step. This office is so amazing and I would recommend them to everyone! If you are looking somewhere else please do yourself a favor and call Dr. B!!!"
Erica Leftwich
Published 11/22/18
"I can’t say enough about Dr. David Buchin and his incredible staff. I had Gastric Sleeve Surgery 18 months ago and my life has been completely changed. From the first day I met him, I knew I was making the right decision. Dr. Buchin and his staff guide you every step of the way by educating you about the process and then providing incredible follow up care to set you on the path to success. They are always available to answer any questions you have. Thank you to everyone!"
Bernadette Spina
Published 11/2/18
"I have had the pleasure of being a patient of Dr. Buchin for almost 10 years. Words cannot express the wonderful care I have received over the years from not only him as a physician, but his wonderful office staff. He has the utmost care for his patients and wonderful bedside manner. I highly recommend Dr. Buchin."
Marissa Giglio
Published 09/22/18
"Dr. Buchin and the entire staff of Long Island Obesity Surgery are some of the kindest and most knowledgeable people in the subject of bariatric surgery. I am beyond grateful to have found them and to have completed my revision surgery with them this passed February. The support and education provided without a doubt sets each patient up for a successful surgery and the after care allows each of us to move forward with a sense of purpose and certainty that we will succeed. Thank you to everyone!!!
It is very much appreciated!"
Ilene Isaacs
Published 08/20/18
"From first appt I knew I was in the right place. Dr Buchin works hard for his reputation.
Excellence
Staff amazing
Appointments run on time
Just can't find enough words
Thank you!"
Leonnora Kotzavekiaris
Published 08/13/18
"I went for my one year post op today and I still can’t believe how lucky I was to find Dr. Buchin and his office. I had been going to another doctor and it felt like a factory. Dr. Buchin took me as a patient and made me feel comfortable and safe. I will never regret switching doctors. He has an amazing bedside manner and his entire office is just as friendly and welcoming. My only regrets are not going to him sooner and having the surgery done sooner. He is extremely professional and comforting. Explains everything every step of the way and answers all questions. I can’t say enough wonderful things about Dr. Buchin and his entire office.​​​​​​​"
Christine Marie
Published 08/13/18
"Best decision I’ve ever made. So thankful for Dr Buchin & his staff! If you decide to visit, you’re in good hands!​​​​​​​"
Valerie Calandrino
Published 08/10/18
"Dr Buchin and staff are the best!!! Had my surgery beginning of the year and am already 90 lbs down and can honestly say I have not had one issue or complaint about any aspect of the journey. Thanks for changing my life!!!!​​​​​​"
Chris Riggi
Published 07/28/18
"Dr. Buchin and his staff are beyond amazing. My specific case was incredibly difficult and luckily Dr. Buchin was able to take me on as a patient. I had gotten the lapband in 2009 with another doctor which led to many, many complications. Thankfully in 2016, I met Dr. Buchin, who was able to remove my eroded lapband endoscopically (which was the coolest and really rare!) and 6 months later he gave me a Roux-en-y gastric Bypass. I am so happy that I landed at Long Island Obesity Surgery as everyone there is passionate, knowledgeable and wonderful to work with. Dr. Buchin and his staff are truly a special team and I would go through this process a million times over just because of them. It's been an incredibly long journey and I feel the best that I've ever felt in my entire life!​​​​​​"
Robyn Hymowitz
Published 07/27/18
"As a medical professional myself- I am very selective with my care. Dr. Buchin and his staff have saved my life physically, mentally and emotionally- Being a patient over 7 years, Dr. Buchin and his staff continue to give me the Newest, best and compassionate care on LI. I would recommend him to anyone who wants the best and brightest in Bariatric and continued Surgical care! I owe my life and continued success to him and his staff. Support groups, nutrition to continued care no matter how long post op you are; they really are leaders in continued care and success. Losing over 250 lbs and keeping it off over six years with their medical care and support!​​​​​​"
Angela Ayala
Published 06/27/18
"I luv luv luv Dr.David Buchin! I’m having gastric sleeve surgery with him in August and I couldn’t have found a better surgeon! He is professional, understanding, kind and a gift from heaven! He explained every single thing about this surgery! His appointments are on time and not over booked. He has convient hours. His office is very nice! He is affiliated with the best hospitals! His staff is professional and kind and they are so helpful explaining and getting all the necessary paperwork for my surgery! I know this procedure will give me the quality of life I deserve ! This is a life changing experience and I’m so glad he is doing it! Cannot wait!!!!​​​​​​"
Linda Kelly
Published 06/24/18
"Both my parents and I have gotten the gastric sleeve and we all received the best pre and post care imaginable. Dr. Buchin’s knowledge is abundant and makes it super easy and understandable for his patients. I weighed 190lbs and now after five months I’ve lost 71lbs and weigh 119lbs. Would recommend to anyone wanting to change their lifestyle for the better". "Thank you Dr. Buchin​​​​​"
Tiana Thurmond
Published 06/10/18
"I have had nothing but positive experiences with Dr. Buchin and his amazing staff. The office is clean and they run on time. Dr. Buchin is great. He has an extremely knowledgeable and dedicated team who are extremely courteous and always there to assist in any way. Dr. Buchin and Erin Nastro consistently answer all my questions and are straight forward. Seriously, he is the first doctor that ever made me consider going outside of my HMO plan. I recommend them to anyone who is looking for a first class Bariatric Medicine team!​​​​​​​"
Vitals Rating
Published 01/16/18
"I am 3 months post-surgery and am so happy with my new life. I have been to many doctors’ offices in my life, but never one like Dr. Buchin’s. From Sara, who is the first person to meet and greet us, to Lacy, Patty, Erin (Dr. B’s right arm) these women are the way to a wonderful Dr. I am so very happy I entrusted this office to help me enter this new and wonderful new journey of mine. If after reading this, you go somewhere else for your journey......I’m sorry for you.​​​​​​​"
Vitals Rating
Published 12/07/17
"Dr. Buchin is a compassionate, skilled expert both diagnostically, surgically, and in patient care.​​​​​​​ He saved the quality of life for my two sons and myself! We are forever grateful!"
Dorothy DeNoto
Published 08/2017
"Dr. Buchin was very knowledgeable and sympathetic to me, post Op care was excellent​​​​​​​"
Vitals Rating
Published 07/26/17
"Dr. Buchin was not my physician, he was called in as a consult because of his reputation. I have never met a more caring and genuine person in a hospital before. My husband was a patient in Huntington Hospital and Dr. Buchin was not even his doctor, he was called in briefly as a consult but took the time to fully explain things to us in laymen's terms. When our doctors were not available to answer questions (which was often) he always came and answered our questions until we were fully satisfied and understood. He came daily just to check on my husband, even in the evenings when no other doctors were to be found. Most surprisingly the weekends!!! It's like you don't exist on the weekends, but there was Dr. Buchin. No matter what day or time, he was accessible to us. He was so patient answering the same questions over and over as he knew this was such a stressful time in our lives and he did everything he could possibly do to reassure us. Whenever we contacted the office we never felt like they were put off by our calls over and over again. They were so friendly, pleasant and understanding and truly helpful. I would recommend this doctor to anyone! I wish they were all as dedicated and professional and kind as he.​​​​​​​"
Vitals Rating
Published 07/25/17
"Amazing surgeon and amazing staff!​​​​​​​"
Vitals Rating
Published 07/20/17
"Amazing surgeon and staff!​​​​​​​"
Vitals Rating
Published 07/15/17
"I love this group! So sweet, helpful, understanding, professional, honest, and real."
Adele
Published 05/26/17
"This has hands down been one of the best experiences of my life, healthcare related, or othwerwise. From day 1, everyone in the office was professional and friendly. Dr Buchin and his staff truly know how to work with bariatric patients and have the keen sensitivity that is most often required. I am almost a year post-op and my results are astounding. I have lost and kept off over 160 lbs. The change is asronomical. I am hittig the gym, competing in athletics, doing things i never though I would do due to my weight. I highly reccomend anyone thinking of havig a bariatric procedure done...go see Dr B. Dont be scared. This gentleman will change your life!"
Michael
Published 04/4/17
"Amazing Doctor.... Simply put, his skills reflect in the smiles that his patients have after having bariatric surgery."
Kendal
Published 08/11/16
"Dr. Buchin and his practice are, and were, amazing! Throughout the entire process, from information session just to learn about bariatric surgery, through follow up care after surgery, they are accessible, knowledgeable, sensitive, and caring. I felt comfortable and relaxed from the first time I stepped into his office. The monthly support groups, and Facebook patient support group foster a real sense of camaraderie among his patients, and probably increases overall compliance and long term success. Dr. Buchin even joined a group of patients for a "Color Run" 5K! Best bariatric doctor I've ever met!"
Obesity Help
Published 08/08/16
"In April I had a laparoscopic procedure called Nissen Fundoplication done by Dr Buchin. This procedure is done to repair the valve between the esophagus & stomache to prevent GERD. I had been suffering badly with this for many years, also I had a lot of difficulty in eating due to food getting stuck in this area when eating, almost every meal. I was in the hospital only one night post op surgery, and one week later I was fine to return to work. I no longer have GERD, problems with eating, and I no longer take proton pump inhibitors that I had been on for a long time ( they were barely helping at this point ). This surgery resulted in an unbelievable improvement in my quality of life. Dr Buchin performed an incredible surgery for me, the results are AMAZING, and I can’t thank him enough!!!"
Obesity Help
Published 07/21/16
"Dr. Buchin is an amazing surgeon with great bed side manner! Its been almost one year since my surgery and I'm more than thrilled with my results and with his continuous support and guidance. What makes Dr Buchin stand out from all other doctors is his skill, knowledge, and accessibility. Whenever I have a question he always responds immediately and his staff always makes sure I come in for my follow up appointments. Sometimes there is a wait but I know its because he takes his time with each pt, answering all of their questions. I love that Dr. Buchin is always at the support groups answering all of our questions! I couldn't ask for anything more from such an outstanding team. Thanks Dr. B for all of your help on my weight loss journey!"
Vitals Rating
Published 07/11/16
"My procedure went exactly as he describe it. The office workers are very nice and accomodating."
Vitals Rating
Published 09/23/15
"Choosing the right bariatric surgeon was a very difficult decision until I met Dr Buchin. The professionalism, the bedside manner, the pre-op and post-op care among other outstanding interactions that I've experienced from Dr Buchin himself and his office stuff made this journey of mine the most comfortable one. Dr Buchin is a true professional and an amazing person. From my first interaction with him at the consultation appointment to the 6th month after the operation follow up, he has shown a great deal of interest in my progress and has being there for me for all of my questions and concerns. His office stuff is outstanding and will go above and beyond to help you dealing with insurance, coordinating appointments and supporting you with diet and appropriate recommendations to keep you motivated. Finally, if bariatric surgery is your treatment of choice then I highly recommend to you my doctor, Dr David Buchin.​"
Realself Rating
Published 12/19/14
"Dr Buchin holds regular group support meetings for ore and post op patients to discuss the entire process. He and his staff are experts on the approval criteria and process with insurance requirements and thoroughly prepares his patients with what to expect at every step per and post procedure. I had surgery on a Wednesday and was back at my desk the following Monday. The only real restriction was not being able to fly for a few weeks after surgery. I would definitely recommend the procedure and Dr Buchins practice Long Island Obesity​"
Realself Rating
Published 12/02/14
"I would highly recommend Dr Buchin for bariatric surgery. He is the best! He spends a lot of time with you in the office explaining everything and thoroughly reviews all blood work results with you.​​"
Realself Rating
Published 11/26/14
"Positive Comments: If you had him as your doctor you know as i do he is a great person and dr.​​​"
Uncomparehealthcare Rating
Published 03/11/14

Submit Your Review!

Rate Our Service:

By submitting your testimonial, you acknowledge you agree to the website terms. We protect your personal privacy and email security. View our Privacy Policy